Free Mammograms

Early detection saves lives

Free mammograms are available for low-income women, 40 years old or older, on Wednesday, May 12, from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. The location is the Monrovia Health Center at 330 W. Maple Avenue. Please call 626-256-1600 to schedule an appointment.

If you do not qualify as low income, a referral for low cost mammogram will be provided. For more information, please contact Iling Wang at 626-256-1636 or ilwang@ph.lacounty.gov.

Mamografías gratis – gratis para mujeres de 40 años o mayor y de bajo ingresos. Miércoles, 12 de mayo 2010, Monrovia Health Center, 330 W. Maple Avenue.  8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Si no califican, le daremos una recomendación para una mamografia de bajo costo.

Por favor llamar para una cita al: 626-256-1600. Para más información, pregunte por Iling Wang, ilwang@ph.lacounty.gov.

38 Responses

  1. I am looking for a location for a free breast exam in South Orange County. I have not had an exam in 2 years and I do not have a steady income. I am without any insurance.

    Linda Allison

  2. Just discovered a lump, Mom had breast cancer, I have no insurance and work part time. I am 39.
    Please help….

    • Hi Tina – someone from our team is sending you an email in regards to your comment – please check your email or call our office at (714) 957-9157.

      • I live in Orange County. I have a small lump in my breast, am unemployed & have no insurance. I have found clinics that offer free mammograms for women 40 or 50 , but I’m only 30. Please help!

  3. Hi Becky – Please contact our office as soon as possible for more information! (714) 957-9157.

  4. My wife is Russian and we were recently married here in the states. She has severe pain in her right breast and we do not have health insurance. Is there a location where she can go immediately for a mammogram and breast examination? Preferably with someone who speaks Russian?

    Oksana

    • Hi Oksana, please contact our office and speak to Ambrocia or Carol – they will be able to direct you to one of our grantee organizations that can help you find a Russian-speaking breast health practitioner. (714) 957-9157.

  5. i was in the shower and felt a lump in my right breast last week. i dont have insurance and cant afford a mammogram. i see all the free mammogram progams for 40-50 year olds but i am only 28. its scary because my family has a history of breast cancer and also my sister was only 16 when she had a lump removed from her breast so its kinda scary for me. Is there any kind of program for younger women in need of free or low cost mammograms?

    • Hi Corissa, just because you are young doesn’t mean you aren’t able to receive help. Please contact our office at (714) 957-9157 and speak to Ambrocia or Carol – they will be able to direct you to one of our grantee organizations to provide assistance.

  6. please call me to schedule a mammagrome i need one desperetly my sister was just dignoised with cancer on her right breast….

    • Mary, we’re so sorry to hear about your sister. We don’t have a number to reach you at, but please call us at our office at (714) 957-9157 and speak to our receptionist — she will help direct you to someone who can help.

  7. i am 63 yrs old. i haven’t had a mamogram in three years. i know that you offer free. but what if you find something, as i believe you will, do you offer or know of any place to get a biopsee, i do not have insurance and i get S/S.
    Thanks Elena

    • Hi Elena,

      It sounds like you might qualify for one of our upcoming free mammography screenings. We are having a sign-up day on Saturday, Oct. 8 at Northgate Market in Anaheim from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. for free on-site mobile mammography on Oct. 17 (1 – 4 p.m.).

      Please give our office a call at 714-957-9157 and speak to Ambrocia – she will be able to give you in-depth information about the initiative.

      • Hello … Where can I find out more information regarding the 10/17 mobile mammography?

      • Hi Kerry, please contact Ambrocia at our office to learn more about the mobile mammography sign-ups taking place on 10/8. She can be reached at 714-957-9157.

  8. Hi,
    I live in Orange (Orange county) and was wondering if you have any free clinics or low cost clinics that do mammograms. My doctor at Kaiser (which I could no longer afford) said because of my family history of having lumps removed (mom, grandmother and great grandmother) that I need to be screened in my later 20’s and I am going on 26 and don’t know where to go. Could you help me get more information?

    Thank you

    • Hi Cori –

      Thanks for stopping by. Our on-site mobile mammography has already taken place earlier this month, but we have many resources for people seeking information about early screening, especially given your family history. Please give Ambrocia a call at our office at 714-957-9157 and she will provide you with the information you need to find a free or low-cost clinic for a mammogram.

  9. Hi! I need help, I am having extremly painful pain in my boobs it fills like someone is poking them with an ice pick, it has been going on for a while and it use to only be once every other month or so but the last month it has been every single day and I am in alot of pain, breast cancer is big in my family, my grandma had it 3 times, my aunt had it 2 times and my sister had it this year, I have no insurance and everywhere that gives out breast exams for free says that I have to be 40 years old, I am only 39, I wont’ turn 40 until April, does anyone know where I can go to get a free mammogram?? under 40 years old? please and thank you much

    • Krisi, please call Ambrocia at the Komen office at 714-957-9157. We work with many grantees who help provide free and low cost breast exams for uninsured women. Ambrocia will be able to help connect you with the appropriate community grantee to make sure you’re taken care of.

  10. I am 24 years old with a history of family with cancer all types but both grandmothers passed with breast cancer. I have very large breast and felt a pretty good size lump in my right breast…it can be hard to find so I am having a hard time monitoring it. Is there somewhere in Fairfield ca I can go for a breast exam and mammogram. I am uninsured and my job has cut hours to almost nothing so I’m very low on money. I know this needs to be checked and I’m scared but I have no way of paying for a check up. Please email me with some information if you know of a place that can help me. Thankyou.

    • Vanity, thank you so much for reading our blog! Our resources are local as we are in Orange County, Calif. You may want to reach out to the Sacramento Valley Affiliate:

      4970 Windplay Drive, Suite C-3
      El Dorado Hills, CA 95762
      Phone: (916) 492-6474
      Fax: (916) 941-7896
      Email Address: execdir@komensacramento.org

  11. Hello. I’m 28 and had a complex cyst found in 2010, I was told by my doctor to keep an eye on it and had another ultrasound in 2011. The u/s technician was not able to see it and said she saw scar tissue. During a self exam I felt another hard lump in the same area. I’m worried because my grandmother passed away at 31 of Breast Cancer. Where can someone my age get help? I don’t have health insurance.

    • Hi Jes, please call Ambrocia at the Komen office at 714-957-9157. She can provide the information you need to find a free or low-cost clinic for a mammogram.

  12. My mother found a lump on her breast it has grown quickly she has no insurance we are looking for a place that offers free mammograms

    • Hi Gina, please call Ambrocia at the Komen office at 714-957-9157. She can provide some information regarding finding a free or low-cost clinic for a mammogram.

  13. I recently had found what I think is a lump and have pain and wanted to know if there are any places in orange county that have free or low cost screenings. I am 21 years old and an unemployed college student. Please help I have high risk due to my grandmother and her sister having breast cancer. Thank you

    • Hi Vanessa, thank you for reading our blog. Please call Ambrocia at the Komen office at 714-957-9157. She can provide some information regarding finding a free or low-cost clinic for a mammogram in Orange County.

  14. My neighbor is 39to and has found a lump in her breast. Her husband lost his job (he was the sole provider for their family) in December and they do not have health insurance. Her mother had breast cancer and she is terrified. I am trying to help her find a clinic that offers free mammograms to women with no health insurance in Orange County, CA. Could you point me in the right direction, please?

    Thank you for your time.

  15. I’m only 19 years old and my breasts has been sore since December, but a couple weeks ago I discovered a lump on my left breast. I don’t have the money or insurance for a mammogram.

  16. So, I just came back from planned parenthood and they found a 3 cm lump on the side of my left breast. Could be a lymph node. I have to go to county only to be referred out for imaging. Is there any place that you know of in the Coachella Valley that I can get a mammogram a/o ultrasound for little to no cost? Thank you.

  17. Hello my mother has just received news about two abnormalities and one of them having growth. She’s had 2 mammograms and 1 ultrasound. Unfortunately she has no insurance, and we’ve had to pay out of pocket for the 2 mammograms and 1 ultrasound. It’s been costly. There’s nothing we wouldn’t do for our mother, but times are very hard. Does anyone know if there is somewhere we could go here in Orange County – the doctor has told her that she will need to have a biopsy and eventually surgery to remove that growth. When we asked what it could cost, the doctor said out of pocket we’re looking at thousands of dollars up front. Any and all information on how I could get her insurance or enrolled into a program that could assist us with these costs would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

    • Hi Apo,

      Please contact our Orange County office at 714-957-9157 and we would be glad to discuss your mother’s situation further with you. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

