Our Friend Nanci

Nanci Brown as a Komen "cover girl" in 2002.

Carla Cammack and Nanci Brown were “breast friends” – two breast cancer survivors who motivated and enjoyed each other. Nanci Brown died earlier this month on her 64th birthday. Nanci was the Komen Orange County 2002 Most Inspirational Breast Cancer Survivor. Carla is a Komen Orange County board member and has volunteered in key positions with Race for the Cure for many years, including as Race Chair.

This is what Carla has to say about her “breast friend” Nanci:

“The photo below was taken when I flew to Florida to say goodbye to my dear friend. Nanci’s phenomenal strength and courage as she battled Stage 4 breast cancer the last seven years has been a constant source of inspiration to me in my work with Komen.  At the 2008 Race for the Cure Survivor Tribute, I was able to honor Nanci by sharing with the 30,000 people in attendance that Nanci’s goal in January of that year was to be alive and well enough to travel to southern California for our Race in September.  And there she was – in person – at our Race.  The crowd cheered in celebration of her accomplishment and she became an instant celebrity.  She was thrilled at the attention!

“When I just saw her in Florida, Nanci was lucid and coherent, so I was able to tell her how much she has meant to me and how much I loved her and she was able to tell me the same thing.  I promised her that I was going to continue to use her story to inspire and help as many other women as I could and that made her happy.

“I don’t want to have to say goodbye to any more dear friends. Everyone must do their part to put an end to this disease, so please help in any way you can!”

Friends Nanci and Carla.

To register for the 2010 Race for the Cure, to make a donation, to volunteer or for breast cancer education, go to www.komenoc.org. We will continue to be inspired by Nanci Brown.

Leave a Reply

